Turning 30: Here’s 11 Things I’d Tell My Younger Self

cropped-dsc02187.jpg

Photos by Luis Ledesema – @ill_vibe on Twitter and Instagram

Hot damn. It actually happened. Today I turn 30 years old.

It wasn’t too long ago that I was actually freakin’ out about this. I even wrote a big, dramatic Facebook post documenting my fear. After some reassuring words from family and friends, along with my sitting down and really thinking about it, I became excited about the thought of turning 30.

So how do I feel today? A little bit of both scared and excited. Or, at least that’s how I think I feel. I haven’t been able to fully grasp this yet. But nevertheless – it’s here. I’m 30. And no longer will I ever be able to utter the phrase, “When I grow up…”

11. You will break a heart, and you will have your heart broken. It’s inevitable. Just don’t be a dick about it. Be honest with yourself and the person you’re with.

10. Take care of your body! You only get one and you’re going to spend a lot of your adult life in front of a computer typing shit like this… so stay active, eat healthy and for God sakes, cut back on all the honey buns.

Photos by Luis Ledesema – @ill_vibe on Twitter and Instagram

 6. You’ll lose a job in Greenville, South Carolina and think it’s the end of the world. It’s not. And guess what, you losing that job will end up setting you up for one of the best jobs you’ve ever had.

5. When you get to college, enjoy EVERY second and take EVERYTHING the college offers you. Why? Because you’ll be paying for it until 20 minutes past FOREVER.

4. You’re going to fall in love with the phrase, “I am the one thing in life I can control.” You’ll fall in love with it because it’s incredibly true. You can only control you, and no one else.

3. You’re going to take some people for granted… and they are the people who will end up doing the most for you. Those people won’t be around forever. Always know that.

2. It is never too late to dream and make them a reality. There will be times when you’ll want to give up and become part of the status quo… DON’T DO IT.

1. Be happy. Don’t waste your time on bullshit and frustration and negativity. Things don’t go your way – whatever. Go be happy and enjoy your life. When you turn 30, you’re going to be in a good place, trust me. You’re going to be fine. So go enjoy yourself, gain experiences, and invest in a small musical called “Hamilton”. The concept is ridiculous, but it’ll be worth it. You’re just going to have to trust me on this one.

Here’s to 30 more years, my friends. 🙂

Cheers, Ky

Leave a Reply

